Uni Junior – The Wonderful World of Colors

In the beginning of the fall, I had the opportunity of organizing another workshop for Uni Junior, the cross-disciplinary research project led by Professor Gunilla Holm that studies science workshops for children of ages 9-12 as learning environments that I have been involved with for a few years.

This time, we redid the workshop on chemistry and colours that the whole project kicked off with a few years ago. Considering this was the fifth workshop that I was involved with I felt more comfortable this time around and I think the workshop went better than the first time. It was divided into two parts, in one of the parts, the kids were tasked with creating “rainbows in test tubes” and learning about density at the same time. In the second part, the students got to identify different compounds based on their chemical properties.

I had a great time and would like to thank the assistants of the course, Maria, Aleksi and Jim who all were excellent at helping the kids. I’d also like to thank the new coordinator if the project Josephine for organising most of the practicalities related to the workshops and Gadolin for lending us their laboratory. I hope to work with all of you again!

If you know of someone between ages 9-12 who knows Swedish and has a curiosity for many different types of science I recommend signing them up for the Uni Junior workshops. More info at the projects webpage.

Leave a comment